Cycling stars return to compete on the streets of Takapuna

By CyclingNZ High Performance

Last year’s elite winners Racquel Sheath and Regan Gough will defend their respective titles at the Vantage Criterium National Championships on Auckland’s North Shore on Sunday.

The Rio Olympians head a powerful field that includes Under 23 Mountain Bike World Champion Sam Gaze, with around 150 cyclists competing in eight races around the inner CBD course at Takapuna.
Sheath competes alongside her fellow Vantage Elite Track teammates Rushlee Buchanan, the 2014 and 2015 Criterium National Champion and current road race national champion, Bryony Botha, Michaela Drummond, Kirstie James, Elyse Fraser and Jessie Hodges.

Added to this is Waikato’s experienced Pip Sutton, the 2015 Under-17 champion Ally Wollaston (Auckland) and 2014 Under-17 winner Georgia Danford (Auckland).

Gough has recently returned from his first year of a professional road contract with the European-based An Post-chain Reaction Continental team, to rejoin the Vantage New Zealand Track team in preparation for the upcoming Oceania Championships.

He will take on fellow elite track squad teammates Nick Kergozou and Hugo Jones, while there will be competition from James Fouche (Auckland), who has competed in USA and Europe this year after finishing under-23 runner-up in both the road and time trial nationals, and seasoned professional Taylor Gunman, who has enjoyed a strong year with the British Madison Genesis team.

There will be interest in the efforts of Gaze, while unmatched on the mountain bike, is also more than useful on the road, competing in the famed under-23 Gent-Wevelgem cobbled classic in Belgium this year after finishing fourth in the elite time trial at the national championships.

Others to watch include Luke Mudgway, who rode for the RTS Monton Racing team based in Asia, and the experienced Roman van Uden.

There are a number of young guns to liven up the elite grade including Barfoot & Thompson Auckland Hub riders Oscar Elworthy, Aaron Wylie, Harry Waine, Harris Fogelberg, Josh Kench, Liam Cappel, Theo Gilbertson in the men and Dayna Haythorne, Danford, Jenna Merrick, last year’s under-17 winner Stella Nightingale and Renee Young.

The exciting multi-lap course takes in Hurstmere Rd and The Strand in the Takapuna CBD, with free entry for spectators. Racing begins at 2.30pm on Sunday 12 November with the Men’s Street Race, Open B Grade Men and Women, Under 17 Girls, Under 17 Boys, Elite women around 4.40pm with the Elite men schedule to start around 5.30pm.
Bozzone and Siddall secure breakthrough wins at Ironman NZ
Terenzo Bozzone (NZL) and Laura Siddall (GBR) were crowned champions at Kellogg's Nutri-Grain IRONMAN New Zealand on a day that saw race records smashed as the event celebrated 20 years in Taupo and 34 years in total, second only to the IRONMAN World Championships in Kona, which celebrates 40 years this October.
Friday, 9 March 2018
Braden Currie takes out second place at Challenge Wanaka
Braden Currie after finishing the 2018 Challenge Wanaka.
Thursday, 22 February 2018
Gomez and Luxford crowned Challenge Wanaka 2018 champions
Men's podium (L-R, Jesse Thomas of USA 3rd, Javier Gomez of Spain winner and Braden Currie of NZ 2nd) for 2018 Challenge Wanaka Half Pro event on February 17, 2018 in Wanaka, New Zealand.
Sunday, 18 February 2018
Three-peat for Clark while Owen claims her first Kathmandu Coast to Coast title
Whakatane's Sam Clark made it three wins in a row while South African Robyn Owen claimed her first win in the 2018 Kathmandu Coast to Coast World Championship Longest Day.
Wednesday, 14 February 2018
Javier Gomez to race Challenge Wanaka 2018
Credit: Getty Images Multiple world champion, Javier Gomez (ESP), has announced his plans to race Challenge Wanaka on 17 February 2018.
Monday, 5 February 2018

News Index »