Weaver Secures Overall Elite Title in Team Cycling Series

By NZ Cycle Classic

Wellington rider David Weaver won the overall elite title in the Trust House sponsored North Island team cycling series held in the Wairarapa yesterday.

Racing in brilliant weather conditions on an undulating circuit on the outskirts of Masterton, Weaver finished the fifth and final race of the series in second place behind Dave Rowlands but had secured enough points to stay ahead of Rowlands to claim the overall title.

Race director Jorge Sandoval said there was a lot at stake the elite grade heading into yesterday’s 120km race, which began at Henley Lake and saw riders race towards Eketahuna via Whangeahu Valley and Alfredton before returning to Masterton. Only seven points separated series leader Weaver from second place and last year’s series winner Rowlands, while Joel Yates finished third.

Good conditions made it possible for the bunch to stay together most of the race and it wasn’t until the last 30kilometers that around 25 riders broke away and went on to contest the finish line in a mass sprint.  All the leaders on the points classification came in in the first three places with Rowlands taking line honours. Yates finished third but took out the under23 title with Team Wheelworks taking the teams title.

Former Olympian Gary Anderson took out the Masters two grade race and overall series title from Wellington’s Kerrin Allwood with a brilliant sprint finish ahead of a 62 strong field.

Brendan McGrath, from Team Roadworks, won the Masters one grade by over four minutes following a remarkable break away from a five man bunch at the halfway turn in Alfredton. Matthew Weaver finished second. Team mate and current grade leader John Randall come in a few minutes later, but he only needed to finish in front of Steve Bale to secure the 2016 title. He did so finishing in 13th place with Bale one place behind.

The team’s title went to riders in PNP team.

At the series presentation held at The Farriers Restaurant and Bar, Mr Sandoval paid special thanks to race sponsor Trust House and other sponsors.

“We have managed to stage a great series and place the Wairarapa region as a true road cycling destination.  All riders endorsed the circuits with the series being well supported. We had over 250 riders take part over the five races, most of them coming from outside the Wairarapa. This provided a good economic impact to the town.  I will work hard to keep the series based here in the Wairarapa with a better, bigger event in 2017,” Mr Sandoval said.
The four division winners of this year's Trust House north island teams series. Left to right, Dave Weaver, winner elite grade, Joel Yates, winner U23 grade, Gary Anderson, winner masters two grade and John Randal, winner of masters one grade

For more information visit
Top International Professionals enter Challenge Wanaka
Challenge Wanaka continues to attract triathlon's big names to the shores of Lake Wanaka in 2019, with some of the world's best confirming their participation. American triathlon powerhouse, Andrew Starykowicz will be certainly pushing the envelope in Wanaka.
Saturday, 5 January 2019
Breca Swimrun Launches National Championships
Tuesday, 4 December 2018
Captivating Finishes at BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge
Epic results unfolded today at the 42nd annual BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.
Monday, 26 November 2018
Wanaka athlete crowned 25thPeak to Peak supreme winner
Stunning bluebird weather greeted competitors at the 25thannual Torpedo7 Peak to Peak multisport race Saturday.
Monday, 13 August 2018
Taupo named as finalist in race to host 2020 Ironman 70.3 World Championship
IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, announced today that Perth, Western Australia and Taupō, New Zealand have been named finalists to host the IRONMAN®70.3® World Championship triathlon which will rotate to the Oceania region in 2020.
Wednesday, 13 June 2018

News Index »