International Triathlon Union confirms new Athlete's Committee


ITU is pleased to confirm the newly elected Athlete’s Committee which includes 10 representatives from nine countries. 

“Athletes have been an integral part of the decision-making process since ITU was founded nearly 30 years ago,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “I’m very pleased to see a diverse range of athletes on the committee, with a wide breadth of experience. I look forward to working with them to make triathlon even better.”

The inclusion of elected athletes on the ITU Executive Board has strengthened the role of the athletes and is an integral part of our continued success as an International Federation striving to be athlete centered.

The elected members will serve as liaisons between athletes, ITU staff and the Executive Board. Athletes will hold the position for a term of two years and were elected by their peers through an anonymous and secure online voting system.

Returning to the committee to serve another term are Olympians Ai Ueda (JPN) and Jessica Harrison (FRA) as well as Paralympian Clare Cunningham (GBR).

Clare Cunningham (GBR) – paratriathlete
Jessica Harrison (FRA)
Rachel Klamer (NED)
Lisa Norden (SWE)
Ai Ueda (JPN)

Yannick Bourseaux (FRA) - paratriathlete
Jonathan Goerlach (AUS) – paratriathlete
Shen-Yen Hsieh (TPE)
Francisco Serrano (MEX)
Tamás Tóth (HUN)

The Athlete’s Committee is comprised of ten athletes from a minimum of three continents with equal representation from men and women. Any athlete who had points on the ITU Points List or ITU Paratriathlon Points List within the past four years was eligible to be nominated. The ITU Athlete’s Committee receives two votes at the ITU Congress and one vote on the Executive Board.
Top International Professionals enter Challenge Wanaka
Challenge Wanaka continues to attract triathlon's big names to the shores of Lake Wanaka in 2019, with some of the world's best confirming their participation. American triathlon powerhouse, Andrew Starykowicz will be certainly pushing the envelope in Wanaka.
Saturday, 5 January 2019
Breca Swimrun Launches National Championships
Tuesday, 4 December 2018
Captivating Finishes at BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge
Epic results unfolded today at the 42nd annual BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.
Monday, 26 November 2018
Wanaka athlete crowned 25thPeak to Peak supreme winner
Stunning bluebird weather greeted competitors at the 25thannual Torpedo7 Peak to Peak multisport race Saturday.
Monday, 13 August 2018
Taupo named as finalist in race to host 2020 Ironman 70.3 World Championship
IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, announced today that Perth, Western Australia and Taupō, New Zealand have been named finalists to host the IRONMAN®70.3® World Championship triathlon which will rotate to the Oceania region in 2020.
Wednesday, 13 June 2018

News Index »