Will the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series crown a new-old champion or will a new champion arise in the land of the rising sun?

By 4msports

Two title duels are set to reignite in the Land of the Rising Sun as Japan prepares to host the
penultimate stop of the 2016 World Series for the first time. In the women’s event, Rhiannan Iffland, the
surprise rookie from Australia and Canadian Lysanne Richard will resume their thrilling battle while
Mexico’s Jonathan Paredes will attempt to put the pressure on Gary Hunt as the Brit moves closer to his
record-setting 6th title from 28m in the men's competition. Michal Navratil, the current back-to-back
winner from the Czech Republic is third in the overall standings and aims at a hat trick of wins in the allnatural setting along the Pacific Ocean.

Only one athlete has yet achieved three consecutive wins in the 2016 season – Gary Hunt, the leader in
the overall standings. The 32-year-old Brit is known for clinching his victories with difficulty and
impresses the judges with the most complex dives in the World Series; whereas his closest opponent,
Jonathan Paredes from Mexico City, ranges on the exact other end of the difficulty scale. The 27-year old’s diving list is the easiest in the whole competition but it's his constantly immaculate form in the air
and rip entries which award him high scores. With a strong showing in the season's first stop and three
more podium finishes, the Series' 'style master' sits in 2nd position with only two more competitions to
come. A Paredes-typical display of dives from the Sandanbeki cliffs can keep the fight for the King
Kahekili Trophy - the silk ribbon of cliff diving excellence awarded for the overall victory - open until the
year's grand finale at the end of the month.

While the battle for the top three will most likely be decided between Hunt, Paredes, the latest winner
Navratil and American Andy Jones, the fight for the top five - who will automatically qualify for the 2017
season - is still in full force and sees Steven LoBue (USA), Orlando Duque (COL) as well as Artem
Silchenko battling it out. This trio amasses a total of 22 wins in 57 stops of the World Series with the
latest achieved by the Russian Silchenko six weeks ago in Italy. Their struggle to finish in the top five
underlines the depth in quality of diving from heights the equivalent of six double-decker buses in the
World Series’ eighth season.

In the women's it's Australia’s ‘rocking rookie’, Rhiannan Iffland, who holds a 3-2 lead in victories this
season over her closest competitor Lysanne Richard. The Canadian has almost closed the gap to the
leading lady from 20m with her latest win from the old bridge of Mostar, and Japan presents a chance for the 3-time mom to grab the most desired position before the final showdown in Dubai. The title for the 2016 overall win will be fought out between these two, while reigning champion Rachelle Simpson
battles for a top four spot to make the cut for automatic qualification for 2017.

Rising to a height of 50 metres along a 2-kilometre stretch of the Pacific Ocean, Sandanbeki is a cliff
towering along the coast of Shirahama Town, Wakayama Prefecture, and will provide an all-natural
setting for the last-but-one stop of the 2016 season. Where one of nature's spectacular marvels can be
watched – the ocean's ‘black current’ unleashing wave after wave and sending them crashing up against
the cliff – male and female diving grace will add to the beauty of the setting.

Wildcards (men | women): Alain Kohl (LUX), Alessandro De Rose (ITA), Christian Arayon (COL), Kris
Kolanus (POL), Viktar Maslouski (BLR); Rhiannan Iffland (AUS), Tara Hyer-Tira (USA).

Standings MEN (after 7 of 9 stops)
1. Gary Hunt, GBR – 1060pts.
2. Jonathan Paredes, MEX – 840
3. Michal Navratil, CZE – 760
4. Andy Jones, USA – 660
5. Steven LoBue, USA – 530
6. David Colturi, USA – 500
7. Orlando Duque, COL – 480
8. Artem Silchenko, RUS – 418
9. Sergio Guzman, MEX – 348
10. Kris Kolanus (W), POL - 330

Full standings
Standings WOMEN (after 5 of 7 stops)

1. Rhiannan Iffland (W), AUS – 890pts.
2. Lysanne Richard, CAN – 810
3. Cesilie Carlton, USA – 580
4. Helena Merten, AUS – 480
5. Adriana Jimenez, MEX – 430
6. Rachelle Simpson, USA – 420
7. Ginger Huber, USA – 410
8. Yana Nestsiarava (W), BLR – 180
9. Tara Hyer-Tira (W), USA - 90
9. Jaki Valente (W), BRA – 90
11. Iris Schmidbauer (W), GER – 50

Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series
Since 2009, the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series has provided a platform for exhilarating action and
dives of ever-growing complexity. The series features elite athletes as well as young up-and-coming
talent and a Women’s World Series was introduced in 2014. In 2016 the sport's best athletes will once
again leap, twist and somersault from breathtaking heights with no protection, except their concentration, skill and physical control during nine competitions around the world.

The competition will be LIVE on October 16 from 04.50am GMT on and Red
Bull TV. Red Bull TV is available on connected TVs, gaming consoles, mobile devices and more. Find
out more at

We invite you to follow the World Series on Facebook (, Instagram
(@redbullcliffdiving) and Twitter (@cliffdiving).
Top International Professionals enter Challenge Wanaka
Challenge Wanaka continues to attract triathlon's big names to the shores of Lake Wanaka in 2019, with some of the world's best confirming their participation. American triathlon powerhouse, Andrew Starykowicz will be certainly pushing the envelope in Wanaka.
Saturday, 5 January 2019
Breca Swimrun Launches National Championships
Tuesday, 4 December 2018
Captivating Finishes at BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge
Epic results unfolded today at the 42nd annual BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.
Monday, 26 November 2018
Wanaka athlete crowned 25thPeak to Peak supreme winner
Stunning bluebird weather greeted competitors at the 25thannual Torpedo7 Peak to Peak multisport race Saturday.
Monday, 13 August 2018
Taupo named as finalist in race to host 2020 Ironman 70.3 World Championship
IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, announced today that Perth, Western Australia and Taupō, New Zealand have been named finalists to host the IRONMAN®70.3® World Championship triathlon which will rotate to the Oceania region in 2020.
Wednesday, 13 June 2018

News Index »