Cycling legends heading south to mark 60th anniversary of SBS Bank Tour of Southland

By Cycling Southland

Southland cycling fans will have a rare opportunity to mingle with stars from the past and present during the birthday celebrations of the longest running cycle race in New Zealand.

Several former yellow jersey winners will be returning to the province to mark the start of the 60th SBS Bank Tour of Southland.

Among those making the pilgrimage south will be crowd-favourite Warwick Dalton, arguably New Zealand’s greatest all-round amateur cyclist and a three-time winner of the Tour (1959, 1961 and 1969). Known as “a champion of champions”, Dalton dominated cycling in New Zealand in the 1950s and ’60s and was a major attraction at the Kew Bowl cycling track, with crowds pouring through the turnstiles keen to see his superb riding skills.

He competed at the 1956 and 1960 Olympic Games, and won bronze medals in the 1km Time Trial and Individual Pursuit at the 1958 British Empire and Commonwealth Games. He won two stages in the Tour of Britain in 1961, finishing third and winning the points classification, and won the Australian national road race title in 1963.

Another former champion returning to Southland is Tino Tabak, who won three consecutive Tours from 1965. His style was described as “riding as though his life depended on it” and after honing his skills in the Tour headed to Europe where he footed it against some of the greats including Eddy Merckx, Joop Zoetemelk, Freddy Maertens. He finished 18th in the 1972 Tour de France, still the best result by a New Zealander, but the “master of the breakaway’s” cycling career was ended by injury in 1978.

Among the other champions taking part in the celebrations will be eight-time winner Brian Fowler (1985-1990, 1992, 1995), the last Southlander to win the race Doug Bath (1994), two-time winners Stephen Cox (1981, 1982) and Paul Jesson (1976, 1978), Merv Davis (1968), Chris Hogan (1975), Eric McKenzie (1979), as well as those riding this year: Gordon McCauley (2005) and four-time winner Hayden Roulston (2006-2008 and 2010).

The public will have an opportunity to mingle with the champions at the team time trial prologue at the Gala St Reserve on Sunday, October 30. The champions will also ride the team time trial.

The stars will also attend an invite-only birthday function on the Saturday night before the racing begins.
Dalton and Tabak will follow the tour during the week and attend each stage finish, as well as be the guests of honour on the Lone Star Supporters Bus for the Invercargill to Gore stage on Friday, November 4. The pair will also be at the start and conclusion of the BDO Bluff Hill Challenge, which is an opportunity for amateur cyclists to tackle part of the notorious hill stage.

SBS Bank Tour of Southland director Bruce Ross said it would provide cycling fans a great chance to reminisce on some of the golden days of amateur cycling, with the names Dalton and Tabak likely to trigger great memories for many people.

“These guys were household names and had a massive following in Southland, and indeed the country. Their presence back in Southland during our 60th birthday celebrations just makes the occasion even more special.”

The SBS Bank Tour of Southland is the premiere cycle stage race in New Zealand and attracts riders from around the world. This year marks the 60th anniversary of New Zealand's most prestigious road cycling stage race, with a number of great names from the present and past set to be part of the celebrations.

The Tour - Oct 30 to Nov 5 - will traverse more than 900km of Southland and Central Otago's most stunning scenery, with only the hardiest of riders completing the distance, and only the strongest getting to add their name to the list of former champions, which is a veritable who's who of New Zealand cycling.

For more details contact Bruce Ross on 0274 318 198.
Top International Professionals enter Challenge Wanaka
Challenge Wanaka continues to attract triathlon's big names to the shores of Lake Wanaka in 2019, with some of the world's best confirming their participation. American triathlon powerhouse, Andrew Starykowicz will be certainly pushing the envelope in Wanaka.
Saturday, 5 January 2019
Breca Swimrun Launches National Championships
Tuesday, 4 December 2018
Captivating Finishes at BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge
Epic results unfolded today at the 42nd annual BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.
Monday, 26 November 2018
Wanaka athlete crowned 25thPeak to Peak supreme winner
Stunning bluebird weather greeted competitors at the 25thannual Torpedo7 Peak to Peak multisport race Saturday.
Monday, 13 August 2018
Taupo named as finalist in race to host 2020 Ironman 70.3 World Championship
IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, announced today that Perth, Western Australia and Taupō, New Zealand have been named finalists to host the IRONMAN®70.3® World Championship triathlon which will rotate to the Oceania region in 2020.
Wednesday, 13 June 2018

News Index »