Young cyclists make it a double in NZ Club Road Championships

By Sports Media NZ

Three of the four age group time trial winners made it a double with victories in the road race at the New Zealand Club Road Cycling Championships in Alexandra.

Under-15 time trial winners Maddison Douglas (Te Awamutu) and Laurence Pithie (Canterbury TT) along with under-17 girls winner Ally Wollaston showed their overall prowess when they took out their respective road titles.

Douglas was active in an initial seven-strong break in the under-15 girls race over 30kms with a telling climb on Springvale Rd near Alexandra Airport.

Five riders cleared away on the second and final lap with Douglas winning a three-way sprint to prevail over Manawatu’s Rosie O’Brien and Marlborough;s Katie Batt, who was runner-up in the time trial.
The under-17 boys race ultimately saw two riders go clear on the second lap with Pithie bettering Abe O’Donnell (Tinwald) in the sprint finish to follow from his win in the time trial.

O’Donnell also completed an excellent championship after finishing third in the time trial, reversing places with Max Williams (Ramblers) who settled for third today.

Wollaston, sister of New Zealand representative Nina Wollaston, made it a double with a sprint finish in the under-17 race over 40kms.

The bunch remained intact for most of the way with Wollaston getting the best of the sprint finish to edge out Connie O’Brien (Manawatu) and Hannah Bartram (Pegasus).

The under-17 men’s race was livelier with breaks off the front on each of the three laps of the 60km race, with the airport hill providing the best platform to attack.

The breaks were clawed back with a final 10-strong group sprinting for the honours where the Southland pair of Ewan Syme and Corbin Strong prevailed from Callum Walsh (Auckland Central).

The masters grades provided a number of double victors following on from the time trial yesterday that included Amy Hollamby (Timaru) in the M1 grade (35-39 years), Fiona Humpheson (Canterbury TT) in M3 (45-49 years), Sara Harnett (Canterbury TT) in M4 (50-54 years)and Mary Cullen (Ramblers) in M7 (65-69 years).

Results, Road Races:
Under-15, 30km: Maddison Douglas (Te Awamutu) 1:06.48, 1; Rosie O’Brien (Manawatu) same time, 2; Katie Batt (Marlborough) at 1s, 3.
Under-17, 40km: Ally Wollaston (Counties Manukau) 1:14.55, 1; Connie O’Brien (Manawatu) same time, 2; Hannah Bartram (Pegasus) st, 3.
Masters 1, 60km: Amy Hollamby (Timaru) 1:51.52, 1; Belinda Duffey (Counties Manukau) at 1s, 2; Deirdre Hough (Port Nicholson Poneke) at 6s, 3.
Masters 2, 60km: Alice Chaplin (Counties Manukau) 1:49.32, 1; Janice Hill (Kapiti) at 2:12, 2; Paula Hasler (Otago) at 2:21, 3.
Masters 3, 60km: Fiona Humpheson (Canterbury TT) 1:57.25, 1; Erin Criglington (Southland) at 16s, 2; Lyndal Donnelly (Papanui) at 37s, 3.
Masters 4, 60km: Sara Harnett (Canterbury TT) 1:56.49, 1; Tracy Clark (Pegasus) at 10s, 2; Petra Trust (Counties Manukau) at 2:23, 3.
Masters 5, 40km: Lesley Mouat (Masterton) 1:18.06, 1; Sue Lazar (Canterbury TT) at 9:55, 2.
Masters 6, 40km: Ann Rigg (Tasman Wheelers) 1:18.36, 1; Mary Jones (Canterbury TT) at 13s, 2.
Masters 7, 40km: Mary Cullen (Ramblers) 1:30.02, 1; Christine van Hoppe (Tasman Wheelers) at 23s, 2.
Male, under 15 30km: Laurence Pithie (Canterbury TT) 56:44, 1; Abe O’Donnell (Tinwald) same time, 2; Max Williams (Ramblers) at 2:08, 3.
Under-17: 60km: Ewan Syme (Southland) 1:37.14, 1; Corbin Strong (Southland) same time, 2; Callum Walsh (Auckland Central) at 1s, 3.
Para-Cycling C class, 40km: Fraser Sharp (C3 men) 1:10.50, 1; Nicole Murray (C5 Women) a:26.35, 2; Bruce Blackburn (C4 men) 1:34.51, 3.
Hand Cyclists, 30km: Shane Blows (H4 Men) 58:24, 1; Jonathon Nelson (H4 men) 1:00.51, 2; Tiffiney Perry (H3 Women) 1:20.24, 3.

Websites: or
Top International Professionals enter Challenge Wanaka
Challenge Wanaka continues to attract triathlon's big names to the shores of Lake Wanaka in 2019, with some of the world's best confirming their participation. American triathlon powerhouse, Andrew Starykowicz will be certainly pushing the envelope in Wanaka.
Saturday, 5 January 2019
Breca Swimrun Launches National Championships
Tuesday, 4 December 2018
Captivating Finishes at BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge
Epic results unfolded today at the 42nd annual BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.
Monday, 26 November 2018
Wanaka athlete crowned 25thPeak to Peak supreme winner
Stunning bluebird weather greeted competitors at the 25thannual Torpedo7 Peak to Peak multisport race Saturday.
Monday, 13 August 2018
Taupo named as finalist in race to host 2020 Ironman 70.3 World Championship
IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, announced today that Perth, Western Australia and Taupō, New Zealand have been named finalists to host the IRONMAN®70.3® World Championship triathlon which will rotate to the Oceania region in 2020.
Wednesday, 13 June 2018

News Index »