International Triathlon Union announces 2016 Hall of Fame inductees

By International Triathlon Union

ITU today announced four inductees for the third Hall of Fame. These athletes were inducted into the ITU Hall of Fame at a gala held as a part of the ITU Congress in Madrid on December 9. 

“It is with great pleasure that I welcome these four inductees into the ITU Hall of Fame,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “Despite our short history as an International Federation, ITU has been privileged to have witnessed incredible athletes accomplish amazing feats. They laid the foundation for the Federation we have grown into today.”

Elite Women
Loretta Harrop (AUS)
– 2004 Athens Olympic Games silver medalist, 1999 Montreal ITU World Championships gold medalist, 2004 Madeira ITU World Championships silver medalist, 12x World Cup winner  

Carol Montgomery (CAN) – 1990 Manchester Commonwealth Games Gold Medalist, 1990 Perth ITU World Championships silver medalist, 3x ITU World Championship medalist, 15x ITU World Cup winner

Elite Men
Brad Beven (AUS)
– 19x ITU Triathlon World Cup winner, 4x overall ITU World Cup season champion, 3x ITU World Championships silver medalist

Bevan Docherty (NZL) – 2008 Beijing Olympic Games silver medalist, 2004 Athens Olympic Games bronze medalist, 2004 Madeira ITU World Championships gold medalist, 2008 Vancouver ITU World Championships silver medalist, 16x world cup medalist

Those nominated for the men’s and women’s categories were selected based on the criteria that each has a championship title in one or more ITU World Championships, Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, World Cup Series, and/or ITU World Rankings.

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, ITU awarded Sheila O’Kelly the Michel Gignoux Award for significant contributions made to triathlon’s technical area. O’Kelly is one of the greatest contributors to the sport of triathlon in both Canada and globally. O’Kelly is credited with raising the bar in terms of ITU event’s ‘look and feel’ and helped pave the way for the current very successful World Triathlon Series.

Mexico’s Claudia Beristain received the Women’s Committee Award of Excellence for her contributions in advancing women in triathlon. Beristain has not only created opportunities for young up and coming female athletes, but has also made significant contributions to empowering women in coaching positions.

For more information on each inductee, click here.
Top International Professionals enter Challenge Wanaka
Challenge Wanaka continues to attract triathlon's big names to the shores of Lake Wanaka in 2019, with some of the world's best confirming their participation. American triathlon powerhouse, Andrew Starykowicz will be certainly pushing the envelope in Wanaka.
Saturday, 5 January 2019
Breca Swimrun Launches National Championships
Tuesday, 4 December 2018
Captivating Finishes at BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge
Epic results unfolded today at the 42nd annual BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.
Monday, 26 November 2018
Wanaka athlete crowned 25thPeak to Peak supreme winner
Stunning bluebird weather greeted competitors at the 25thannual Torpedo7 Peak to Peak multisport race Saturday.
Monday, 13 August 2018
Taupo named as finalist in race to host 2020 Ironman 70.3 World Championship
IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, announced today that Perth, Western Australia and Taupō, New Zealand have been named finalists to host the IRONMAN®70.3® World Championship triathlon which will rotate to the Oceania region in 2020.
Wednesday, 13 June 2018

News Index »