Paralympic celebrations as Rio 2016 Paralympians 'hand over' to PyeongChang 2018 hopefuls

By Paralympics New Zealand

Last night in Auckland, Paralympics New Zealand (PNZ) celebrated the success of the New Zealand Rio 2016 Paralympic Games Team by bringing together 23 of the 31 Rio 2016 Paralympians in the presence of New Zealand Prime Minister, the Right Honourable John Key. Just over 130 guests were exclusively invited to the celebration at the Langham Hotel by long-time PNZ partner, Adecco New Zealand. 
The celebration comes just over two months after the New Zealand Paralympic Team marched into Maracana Stadium for the Opening Ceremony of what would become New Zealand’s most successful Paralympic Games ever. The Team secured a stunning 21 medals– 9 gold, 5 silver and 7 bronze – beating its pre-Games target of 18 by 3 medals. The New Zealand Paralympic Team placed 13th on the medal table, its highest placing in history, and defended its title of number 1 in the world per medals per capita.
The Rio 2016 Paralympians were thrilled to share this moment with the New Zealand Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Team of Corey Peters, Adam Hall and Carl Murphy. The trio of winter Paralympians will be joined by upcoming winter Para-Athlete Aaron Ewen as they depart New Zealand in the coming weeks to commence their Northern Hemisphere competition season and the start of the road to the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games.
During the evening, New Zealand’s most decorated Paralympian Sophie Pascoe; Rio 2016 flag bearers Liam Malone and Holly Robinson; and Sochi 2014 silver medallist and PyeongChang 2018 medal hopeful Corey Peters were invited to the stage by Paralympian Dan Buckingham. The Paralympians shared with the guests their Rio experiences and Corey, shared his hopes and plans for the journey to PyeongChang.
Fiona Allan (Chief Executive, Paralympics New Zealand) said, “The Rio 2016 Paralympic Games were hugely successful for Para-Sport in New Zealand. The team performed exceptionally both on and off the field of play and the New Zealand public fully embraced and celebrated their achievements. There is no doubt that New Zealand Paralympians have inspired many and have whilst doing so increased awareness, understanding and acceptance of disability in society. Preparations are underway for the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games only 16 months away and the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games
Liam Malone said: “The success that the team had in Rio really brought Para-Sport into the mainstream for the first time and we saw so much amazing support from New Zealanders. I look forward to being one of many New Zealanders that will again show their support as the winter Para-Athletes start their journey to qualification and hopefully selection to the New Zealand team at the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games.”
Corey Peters said: “It was amazing to be able to watch our summer Paralympians in action in Rio. They made all Kiwi’s immensely proud and their achievements have certainly spurred me on. I am really excited about starting the next step in my Paralympic journey and starting competition in the Northern Hemisphere.”

The Rio 2016 and Sochi 2014 Winter Paralympians attending were:
The Para-Athletics Team –
  • Rio 2016 Opening Ceremony Flag Bearer & Silver Medallist - Holly Robinson
  • Rio 2016 Closing Ceremony Flag Bearer and Two-time gold medallist and silver medallist Liam Malone
  • Gold Medallist Anna Grimaldi  
  • Two-time bronze Medallist William Stedman Bronze Medallist Rory McSweeney  
  • Rio 2016 debutants Caitlin Dore and Jacob Phillips
The Para-Swimming Team –
  • New Zealand’s most decorated Paralympian - Sophie Pascoe
  • Gold Medallists - Mary Fisher, Cameron Leslie & Nikita Howarth
  • Silver Medallist Rebecca Dubber
  • Rio 2016 debutants - Jesse Reynolds and Tupou Neiufi
The Para-Cycling Team –
  • Sighted pilot to Emma Foy Bronze & Silver Medallist - Laura Thompson
  • Rio 2016 debutants Byron Raubenhiemer, Stephen Hills and Fraser Sharp.
Para-Shooting Team –
  • Rio 2016 debutant Jason Eales
The Para-Sailing Team –
  • The sonar crew of Rick Dodson, Chris Sharp & Andrew May
The Para-Canoeist –
  • Rio 2016 debutant - Scott Martlew
Winter Paralympians –
  • Veteran of three Paralympic Winter Games, Paralympic Gold Medallist, and PyeongChang 2018 medal hopeful Adam Hall
  • Para-Snowboarder and PyeongChang 2018 medal hopeful, Carl Murphy
  • Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games silver medallist in Alpine Skiing and PyeongChang 2018 medal hopeful, Corey Peters.
Top International Professionals enter Challenge Wanaka
Challenge Wanaka continues to attract triathlon's big names to the shores of Lake Wanaka in 2019, with some of the world's best confirming their participation. American triathlon powerhouse, Andrew Starykowicz will be certainly pushing the envelope in Wanaka.
Saturday, 5 January 2019
Breca Swimrun Launches National Championships
Tuesday, 4 December 2018
Captivating Finishes at BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge
Epic results unfolded today at the 42nd annual BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.
Monday, 26 November 2018
Wanaka athlete crowned 25thPeak to Peak supreme winner
Stunning bluebird weather greeted competitors at the 25thannual Torpedo7 Peak to Peak multisport race Saturday.
Monday, 13 August 2018
Taupo named as finalist in race to host 2020 Ironman 70.3 World Championship
IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, announced today that Perth, Western Australia and Taupō, New Zealand have been named finalists to host the IRONMAN®70.3® World Championship triathlon which will rotate to the Oceania region in 2020.
Wednesday, 13 June 2018

News Index »